A letter to vegetarians (and vegans)

Posted: December 10, 2010 in vegan
Tags: , , , ,
Various fruits, vegetables, nuts, and grains; ...

Image via Wikipedia

Dear vegetarians,

You are awesome.  I love how you decided to stop eating meat.  Maybe you think that animals shouldn’t be tortured and eaten by people, or maybe you are trying to keep your cholesterol down.  That is a wonderful choice for you.  I was vegetarian for years, then fell off the wagon for a few more years because I felt like I wasn’t making a difference.  I started eating meat again.  I still thought it was wrong to eat meat, since I had so many other, healthy, animal-friendly options, but I did it anyway.  Oh, I’d buy free-range eggs (right along factory farmed meat), but my values were out of sync with my actions.  I had given up.

This summer, after visiting the feedlot where my brother-in-law works, I started doing some research on how animals are raised and killed here in the United States, and I was sickened by what I learned.  I went vegan this summer, and though I’ve had some slip-ups out of ignorance here and there, I’ve done my best to stick with it.

Sometimes people tell me they could never be vegetarian because they love meat so much.  Or they couldn’t be vegan because they love cheese.  I liked meat and cheese pretty well, but once I knew the reality of their production, I just couldn’t do it.

I feel better.  I lost 7 excess pounds in 2 weeks without even trying, and then my weight stabilized.  My skin cleared up a bit, too.  And I’m not sure if it’s being newly married or veganism, but I have been told that I look “glowing” by people who haven’t seen me in a while.  Best of all, I’ve discovered so many new things.  I’m cooking more and better than I ever did while omnivorous, I’ve made vegetarian and vegan friends, I’ve fallen in love with the whole Post-Punk Kitchen franchise, and I know that my food is relatively germ-free.  Best of all, I feel good about my dietary choices.

I love being vegan.  I couldn’t be happier about my decision, and I’m glad that others are out there making a difference, too.

Love,

Rad Gal

PS- Vegans, you rock, too.

Leave a Reply

