Quitting smoking

Posted: October 18, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,
A empty Marlboro Lights Menthol pack, found th...

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t know why I thought it would be such a great idea to start smoking.  I was sitting in a diner with a couple friends after a foam party, wet and shivering in the plastic booth with cute boys.  Did I want to be cool?  Was it curiosity?  A girlfriend encouraged me have a drag off of a Marlboro Menthol Light.  I had tried a stray puff here and there during that first year of college, but I didn’t get what all the fuss was about.  I inhaled this minty, rich tobacco.  It was heady, intoxicating, beautiful.  “This is why people smoke,” I said.

Some seven or eight years later, I am quitting.  I’m breaking up with the Marlboro Man.  I am losing a decadent pleasure.  Oh, I’ve quit before; four months here, over a year there.  But then spring or fall comes around, and the allure of sitting outside in the beautiful weather takes me over again.  Or we’re out drinking and a friend offers me a drag.  I’ve never quit “forever.”

I have two cigarettes in a pack left.  I don’t know whether I should smoke a farewell smoke or two.  As a lighter smoker, I don’t know if I should try any nicotine replacement therapy; it seems like overkill, since I don’t even smoke a pack a day.  I am spending the day today putting off that first cigarette.  I’m not sure how I will quit, but I will.

I started the day with a short jog and a cup of green tea.  I enjoyed it almost as much as a cigarette.

Almost.

Comments
  1. fashionfrugals says:

    Did you quit for good?

    • theradgal says:

      I did! I have been nicotine-free for over a month now. I started running in the mornings and drinking a lot of green tea to help me off-set the damage I did from years of smoking and to keep myself busy when I got nicotine cravings. I also post on a non-smoking forum almost daily for support. I’m taking it one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

