A Rad Reading List

Posted: July 22, 2011 in feminism, Greener Living, vegan
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Cover of "The Female Eunuch"

Cover of The Female Eunuch

Please help me create a rad reading list for fledgling Radigans! I want to create a tab/page with a suggested reading list for people on the verge of a political awakening who stumble across my page. Suggest works that personally challenged you or led you to some sort of new awakening. Fiction and non-fiction, ancient and contemporary – everything’s welcome.

Here are my first suggestions, off the top of my head:

The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins
The Female Eunuch by Germaine Greer
The Better World Handbook by Ellis Jones, Ross Haenfler, and Brett Johnson
Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
The Life You Can Save by Peter Singer

I’m sure you have better ones, so submit them in the comments!  Websites, blogs, artists, musicians, festivals, and so forth are also welcome, though I’m keeping the page limited to books for now.

Comments
  1. amymckie says:

    What about The End of Faith by Sam Harris? I found it absolutely fantastic. Also… Hmmm… trying to think of some good starter race issue books. I’m going to think on this more. Love this idea and list and definitely want to read a few that I haven’t yet (Greer, for one).

Leave a comment